Bloom’s Taxonomy

Word count: 218

What is it?

Bloom’s taxonomy refers to a classification of the different objectives that educators set for students (learning objectives). These objectives are split into levels, with the idea that students work their way up the pyramid. Higher levels should not be addressed until the lower levels have been covered.

Why is it useful?

A goal of Bloom’s taxonomy is to motivate educators to focus on all three domains, creating a more holistic form of education. By focusing on ‘one step at a time’ students will be able to work their way up the levels. This in turn enables them to reach a higher understanding of different topics.

How to Use Bloom’s Taxonomy 

Bloom’s taxonomy serves as the backbone of many teaching philosophies, in particular those that lean more towards skills rather than content. Those who teach and wish to use this method should refer to the three domains and the levels within. Students should start from the bottom level before working their way up. For example, once the student has a good knowledge of the subject they can then move onto comprehension. The very top level is evaluation, where a pupil can look back at that certain topic and be able to critique certain areas within.